Radio Brockley Enters Eight HBA Awards Categories

Radio Brockley has entered a record EIGHT entries for the 2020 Hospital Broadcasting Assocation (HBA) awards. However, a major change in the rules for submissions this year means the race for the top prizes will be more wide open than ever before.

This year’s entries were edited by Ron Laver and Alan Joyce, with the written entries provided by Keith Reeve. We have been hugely successful in recent years, finishing in the top three for “Station Of The Year” for five years in a row from 2014 to 2018, including winning Gold in 2016 and 2018. This year we picked up a Gold award for our Alpha Sessions anniversary show last October.

This year, for the first time, all audio submitted must be unedited, and no more than 10 clips can be used per category. Also no station jingles can be used.

The eight categories we have entered this year are:

Station Of The Year
Special Event – Official Royal opening of The Stanmore Building
Best Newcomer -Caroline Keating
Best Newcomer – Sarah Wight (SCT Cancer Trust)
Best Female Presenter – Caroline Keating
Best male presenter – Keith Reeve
Best speech package -Up On The Roof (Carline Keating)
Best Specialist Music Programme – Bedside Broadway (Sophie Horrocks)

The shortlist of nominations for each category will be announced on the stroke of midnight on New Year’s Day morning, with the awards ceremony taking place in Bolton on Saturday 28th March, as part of the annual conference. You can find out more here.